Greetings from DomestiGirl!

6 minute read

After growing up pretty much completely uninterested in anything domestic, I have turned into some kind of domestic fiend. In the hopes of sparing other people from my fate (or easing their transition into it), I’m going to join the infinite online blogverse and add my $0.02 to share all the fabulous insights (and dumb mistakes) I make as I stumble through my life.

Just to get started, here’s a picture of my current knitting project, from the Irish Hiking Scarf Knitalong. It’s a fun pattern and not too hard (I haven’t been knitting very long) although I did frog the thing 7 times before getting it to this point.


I’ll list a bunch of factoids about myself so you know something about me… the idea was borrowed (with gratitude) from the Yarn Harlot.Actually, it’s not 100 things. I’m not that interesting…

  1. I’m happily married with 2 wonderful kids.
  2. I tend to over-research things that interest me.
  3. I am an ACE certified personal trainer, but I’ve never done anything with it.
  4. I’m a software engineer working for a high tech firm.
  5. Most days I can work entirely from home, which is a wonderful thing.
  6. I have been knitting for a couple of months. I have 12 books about knitting.
  7. I have been cooking for several years. I have over 100 books about cooking
  8. I breastfed my kids for a couple of years each and volunteered as a breastfeeding counsellor. My kids haven’t breastfed for 3 years but I still have 30 books about breastfeeding.
  9. I actually read all these books for enjoyment.
  10. I have a BA in Philosophy
  11. I have completed 4 sprint-distance triathlons. Not very fast, though.
  12. I love tap dancing, brazilian jiujitsu and jiu sool do.
  13. I play some online roleplaying games, currently World of Warcraft.
  14. I also play in-person roleplaying games.
  15. I am intermittently fluent in Spanish
  16. I think Cozumel has some of the most amazing diving in the world.
  17. I am the scout leader for my daughter’s troop. We have girls from 5 to 11 years old.
  18. I am always scared of talking in front of groups – especially kids.
  19. I love to cook for lots of people. Usually, the food is great.
  20. Sometimes my cooking doesn’t work out very well.
  21. Fortunately my friends are very nice about it.
  22. If I could live anywhere, I would live in Kona, HI.
  23. I am in the process of writing a romance novel.
  24. I talk really fast when I’m nervous. I also talk pretty fast when I’m not nervous.
  25. I pay someone else to clean my house.
  26. I almost never drink alcohol or coffee because I don’t like the taste.
  27. I drink 2 or 3 huge glasses of iced tea every day because I do like the taste.
  28. I love to sing and remember the words to almost everything.
  29. I tend to overthink little tiny details
  30. I rehearse conversations in my head before I have them in real life.
  31. We have 2 dogs, 2 cats and some fish
  32. I do all my work on a Macintosh because it runs Unix natively
  33. … and because it works well with my ipod
  34. I’m ADD, but work around it ok
  35. I work every day to make decisions that I will be proud of later
  36. I love to look at clouds.
  37. I’d like to have a motorcycle someday
    • The shows I love tend to be somewhat witty and convoluted, and so they’re often cancelled. Firefly is a good example.
      • I like pink. And purple. So sue me.
        • One of our dogs is named ‘Indiana Jones’. The other one is Trinity. From the Matrix.
          • The Indigo Girls is one of my favorite bands
          • My favorite Christmas album is A Christmas Portrait (The Carpenters)
            • All the men I dated longer than a year have PhD’s in physics. Except my husband, who would be a physicist if he didn’t like money so much.
              • Both of my babies were born by c-section because of pre-eclampsia
                • I had Lap band surgery in July of 2001
                  • I’m not fond of change
                    • I wish I had time to go through Buddhist training
                      • My favorite song from Pulp Fiction is “Son of a Preacher Man”
                        • I am an only child
                          • I am a fifth-generation Californian
                            • I cry at movies and AT&T commercials
                              • I call my daughter ‘Itty Bitty’ even though she is very big for her age
                                • I think I would like living in Australia or Canada
                                  • I live near Santa Cruz, California. It’s a great place to live.
                                    • I grew up in Southern California so I think it’s a little too cold here.
                                      • I love to run my hands through raw pinto beans
                                        • I like my iced tea unsweetened, although I like paradise tea too
                                          • I really don’t think there are 100 interesting things about me
                                            • I love gadgets. I even have the cool Nike foot pod for measuring speed/distance.
                                              • If I were a boy my name would have been Sean
                                                • I’m agnostic, with pagan leanings
                                                  • My favorite grocery store is Trader Joe’s
                                                    • I love to read
                                                      • I tend to pile too much on my plate and then get anxious that it won’t get finished
                                                        • My favorite girl scout cookies are do-si-dos, but I like them all
                                                          • I like watching movies on DVD better than in a theater but go to the movies because my husband likes it better
                                                            • I’m very bad with impulse control
                                                              • I like to play board games and card games but don’t like it when I get too competitive
                                                                • When I was a kid I would read books over and over
                                                                  • I came in second place in a spelling bee in second grade – I got out on ‘photographic’. I spelled it ‘fotographic’, figuring that FotoMat must be right. I was pretty pissed.
                                                                    • I have trouble keeping track of my keys, so my husband got me a key finder which I like very much
                                                                      • I like to listen to NPR and 80’s music
                                                                        • I took piano lessons when I was a kid, and played the flute in band through high school
                                                                          • I’m pretty picky about grammar and spelling
                                                                            • Some people think ‘Kirsten’ means ‘the Anointed One’ but it’s actually more of an old pagan name. Which I think is cooler.
                                                                              • I check my email habitually every 5 minutes
                                                                                • I love sushi
                                                                                  • I’m a radical moderate, politically
                                                                                    • My favorite store is J. Jill
                                                                                      • I would love to have a pool
                                                                                        • I prefer giving gifts to receiving them
                                                                                          • My favorite smell from Bath and Body Works is Coconut Lime Verbeena
                                                                                            • I only put on makeup for dates with my husband
                                                                                              • I love listening to people with Australian accents
                                                                                                • I’m very Saggitarius
                                                                                                  • I hate doing paperwork, but feel great when it’s done
                                                                                                    • Still get anxious when calling people on the phone
                                                                                                      • Knitting is a lot of fun, when I don’t overcommit
                                                                                                        • I like food that’s spicy, but have a very low tolerance for heat
                                                                                                          • I want to learn to surf
                                                                                                            • I am a very slow runner
                                                                                                              • I learn new things very quickly, but forget them quickly as well
                                                                                                                • My favorite cooking magazine is Cooking Light
                                                                                                                  • I have terrible direction sense if I’m trying to find someplace, but I do ok if I just use the force
                                                                                                                    • I don’t like punk, country, or heavy metal music
                                                                                                                      • I’m a lot more calm than I used to be. Which is pretty much damning with faint praise.
                                                                                                                        • I enjoy reading science fiction, romance, mystery and crime novels.
                                                                                                                          • My favorite online magazine is
                                                                                                                            • I talk a lot. And very fast. No matter how hard I try not to.
                                                                                                                              • I like my hair best long and straight, although it is currently short and wavy. </ol>